Team Fink Wins Gordon Medal

Broomstones skip Bryan Fink, a junior star at Schenectady in the 1990’s, won his fourth Gordon Medal Sunday by easing past Schenectady 1 skip Dean Wadland 11-3 in the finals of the 141st Grand National Curling Club Championship at the Schenectady Curling Club.

The Gordon Medal, one of the oldest sporting events in North America that has been played for since 1869, went to Fink for the third time in four years. He curled with Eric Paul, Paul Marseglia, and Sam Chandler (who is a third generation winner) of the Gordon Medal. Wadland, who won the event in 2007, had Charlie Brown, Matt Daly, and Jim Sinkins on his team.

In the other finals, Schenectady 2 Dan Navratil with Tom Lancaster, Ken Rice, and Kirk Wallace downed Plainfield Brady Gould with Bruce Belschner, David Folkes, and Ron Scorese in the 82nd Richard Stockton Emmett Medal 9-5; Petersham Ted Paul, John Griffith, Scott Ennis, Dave Kittredge defeated Schenectady 4 Dion Warr and his team of Tom Holbrook, Brandon Chew, and Ron Holbrook in the 74th Mohawk Trophy 11-8; and Schenectady 5 Dan Machold with Tim Brooks, Peter Drechsler, and Rob Klees edged out Albany 1 Brian Costello with Dan Keller, Bret Sentiwany, and Dimitri Garder in the 36th Reid Medal for the semifinal losers in the Gordon, 7-6.