SCC Wins the Mitchell Invitational

2013 Mitchell Medal Winners

Congratulations to Team Stefanik, the winners of the Mitchell medal (A Event) at the Mitchell Invitational Bonspiel that was held January 10th - 13th at the Utica Curling Club. There were 36 Teams that competed in this event from the US and Canada. This is the 3rd time Schenectady has claimed the medal, first winning in 1978 and again in 2005 (2005 winners were Dean Wadland, Paul Wadland, Doug Spring and Gus Stants).

Mike Stefanik led his team of Brian Damon, Peter Drechsler, and Art Merkley to victory over Team Knapp from UCC in the Finals. Team Stefanik scored and stole in the early ends for a 6-1 lead which they maintained through the 2nd half of the game for a 10-5 victory. Other teams conquered on the way to the finals were Fitzgerald (SCC), Schneider (Royal Kingston), Moore (Utica), and Wadland (SCC) in the semi-finals.

The D Event was won by SCC's Team Wadland with a 7-0 score in just 4 ends. Dean Wadland skipped his team of Paul Wadland, Jack Stopera, and Doug Spring to win the Evans medal.

Two other Schenectady teams also competed in this event. Pat Fitzgerald led his team of Fred Mackintosh, Jeff Mayott and Scott Brennan and Marek Rzonca skipped his team of Jeff Muha, Dave Hooper and Robert Klees.

The Mitchell is an international invitational bonspiel, founded by Alexander Mitchell, patron of the Grand National, who placed the medal into competition in Feb. of 1885. The 2013 Mitchell is the 128th overall and the 102nd to be held at the Utica Curling Club.

Congratulations Teams Stefanik and Wadland!