SCC Ends 36 Year Drought at Dykes

2013 Dykes Winners

Team Brennan: (l to r) Rob Klees, Dan Muller, Scott Brennan, Jeff Howles

Scott Brennan's team of Dan Muller, Jeff Howles, and Rob Klees captured the 74th Annual Francis Dykes Memorial Bonspiel by defeating Scott Burns' Plainfield rink 9-8 after 10 ends. This popular GNCC event for men with 5 years or less experience was held from February 27 to March 3, 2013 at the Potomac Curling Club in Laurel, MD. Karl Andersen, who viced from the lead position on Team Burns, is also a member of Schenectady. Both teams had a great run leading up to the final game at 2:30 PM on Sunday.

During the final, Brennan stole 5 points through the first 3 ends but Burns climbed back into the game making it 6-5 for Brennan after 8 ends. Team Brennan had a good 9th end, scoring 3 with the hammer on a nice last draw by Brennan. Finally, being up by 4 points they were able to hold Burns to 3 to claim the first Francis Dykes victory for Schenectady in 36 years (SCC last won in 1975 and 1976). Rob and Dan also had just won this year's Kayser. Congratulations everyone, we are proud of you!

Also playing in the bonspiel were Team Alois - Brandon Alois, Jeff Brewster, Andy Maurer, Nathan Alois (2-2, losing in the B event semi-final); Team Holbrook - Tom Holbrook, Joe McCarthy, Joe Marshall, David Spengler; and Team Perrotto - Joe Perrotto, Jacob Fields, Mark Roberts, David Genevich.

By all accounts, Potomac did a wonderful job hosting the tournament and next season's 75th Annual will be held right here in Schenectady. All the members of Team Brennan have now aged out so another team will need to step up to defend the title!

You can check out the full draw and saved webstreamed games and awards ceremony provided by Potomac's fantastic coverage during the event.