Fitzgerald Takes the Bowl

2014 Governor's Bowl A Winner

2014 Governor's Bowl Winners: (r to l) Pat Fitzgerald, Art Merkley, Jeff Mayott, Brad Austin

Congratulations to Team Fitzgerald for winning the Governor's Bowl Bonspiel that was held January 23rd – 26th at the Albany Curling Club! Pat Fitzgerald led his rink of Art Merkley, Jeff Mayott and Brad Austin to the win after 10 ends (that's 2 extra ends...wasn't set up to be a 10 end game!) against SCC's Team Stefanik. Mike Stefanik and his rink of Rob Klees, Nate Alois and Karl Andersen fought valiantly in this tough final game to become the A Event Finalists.

And in other great news, Team Quinn won the C Event at the Governor's over Albany's Team Springstead. Dennis Quinn and his team of Marty Zavadil, Fred Macintosh and Tom Lancaster took the C in the morning finals.

Finally, Team Brown was the D Event Finalist after a final game vs Valleyfield's Lalonde. Charlie Brown's rink of Dion Warr, Dave Hooper and Rich Gonyeau had a great run in the A's throughout the event and just missed their bid in the A semi's to compete in the D's on Sunday morning.

There were fourteen teams in this event and SCC's four teams all made it in the finals! Great job gentlemen!