Hall and Holbrook Win SCC Jr. Skip Events!

Hall is the C.R.U.E. Champ!


2014 CRUE Winner Team Hall

2014 C.R.U.E. Winner : (l to r) Eileen Kelliher, Christina Hall, Jackie Shaw

SCC is pleased to announce that Team Hall has won this year’s C.R.U.E. Bonspiel. Christina Hall led her team of Eileen Kelliher and Jackie Shaw to the win in this event with a total of 21.5 points. Team Streeter came in a close second with a total of 20.25 points. Sue Streeter led her team of Lori Millet and Megan Boyak in an impressive bid at the win.

The C.R.U.E. is a one day event for women junior skips of SCC with two 6-end games. It is a “point spiel” so the winners are determined by the combined points for both games. The sponsors of the C.R.U.E. pin are Claire Brunkhorst, Ruth Kerr, Undine Fiedler, and Evelyn Holmblad. They were the first SCC women to win the Empire State Women’s Bonspiel and have been long time supporters of women’s curling at SCC.

The other teams that competed in this event were:

Team Lesczynsky: Yelena Lesczynsky, Sue Adair, Meghan Muller
Team Shank: Anna Shank, Fay Navratil, Linda Austin
Team Shagoury: Amanda Shagoury, Paula Lancaster, Jackie Donegan
Team Gaines: Nancy Gaines, Amanda Vickerson, Ev Kauffman

Thank you to all ladies who took part in this wonderful event and thank you to Lisa Filkins for running the event this year and to Nicole Ladopoulos for providing the ladies with an amazing lunch!

Holbrook Wins the Stants


2014 Stants Bonspiel Winners

Stants Winners: Tom Holbrook, Brent Lehman, Ron Holbrook

Congratulations to Team Holbrook in winning the 2014 Harry Stants Memorial Bonspiel. This in-house bonspiel is for junior level skips. Tom Holbrook led his team of Ron Holbrook and Brent Lehman to victory in an extra end over Sebastian Elliot's rink of Vic Temple and Doug Kerr.

And congratulations to all of the event winners and finalists:

Stants: A Event
Winner: Tom Holbrook, Ron Holbrook, Brent Lehman
Finalist: Sebastian Elliot, Vic Temple, Doug Kerr

Sheehan: B Event
Winner: Brandon Chew, Tom Lancaster, Paul Clarke
Finalist: Jeff Brewster, Steve Wood, Doug Spring

Link: C Event
Winner: Jim Holmblad, Dan Navratil, Phil Falconer
Finalist: Keagan Shaw, Bob Samaniuk, Mike Call

Leonard: D Event
Winner: Karl Andersen, Lou Horton, Stan Stoklosa
Finalist: Kevin Gomes, Jeff Howles, Jeff Faulkner

Great job gentlemen! Thank you to Peter Drechsler for running this event.